Bidfun.co.uk - Too good to be true!
The Admin 6/2/2010 3:28:00 PMMy wife found this site earlier today while she was looking for a gizmo for the family. http://www.bidfun.co.uk/
If you visit the site you will see there are items that are seemingly incredibly cheap, but beware my friends, don't be fooled.
This site is a scam!
Each 'bid' you place you actually pay for.
For example, suppose you see an item that is currently at £50. You bid £55. If someone else bids £60 you LOOOOOSE your £55. What sort of auction is that!!! Well, its an auction that earns BidFun a whole lot of money.
Whats more, colleagues have been monitoring this site and there are automatic bidders who place bids against you. i.e. Bots... controlled by the site.
So, as always, when you see an offer thats too good to be true, it usually is.
Is it legal? Well I am not a legal beagle, but my guess is that is it, because the terms and conditions are clear enough if you read them carefully, but to call it an 'auction' might be a bit of a grey area.
Thank goodness my wife asked me about the site before placing any of my hard earned cash down first. Good on you Lorrain!


Matt says:
9.17.2011 at 11:37 AMAlso watch out for MadBid.com
Matt